“Gold and Eye Salve”

refiners fire

The Wretch had long ago lost his way
His eyes were practically
Crusted shut
They didn’t allow him to see
His own wretchedness
His nakedness or
His poverty

His understanding
Was deeply muddled
And so he wore these infirmities and shortcomings
Proudly
And loudly
Like a Crown

One day, on the road to
Nowhere
He came upon a Man
Selling Gold and Eye Salve.
“You would do well,
Said the Man
“To buy from Me
This refined Gold
And this Eye Salve”

The Wretch considered the Offer.
Could this refined Gold
That the Man was selling
Be better than his tin crown
Or would it weigh too heavily
And be an encumbrance?

While the Wretch pondered
The Man added,
“I’ll come knock at your door,
“And if you hear My voice and answer Me,
I’ll come in and sup with you
And you with Me”

The Wretch didn’t answer
He looked down at the ground
And he hemmed and hawed
His crusted eyes
And muddled head
Not really sure they wanted to see
Or know

18 I counsel thee to buy of me gold tried in the fire, that thou mayest be rich ; and white raiment, that thou mayest be clothed , and that the shame of thy nakedness do not appear ; and anoint thine eyes with eyesalve, that thou mayest see . 19 As many as I love , I rebuke and chasten : be zealous therefore, and repent . 20 Behold , I stand at the door, and knock : if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.

Revelation 3:18-20

3 thoughts on ““Gold and Eye Salve”

Leave a Reply

